Crossmolina AFC in Co. Mayo

Mission Statement Crossmolina AFC

"To provide a football club for the people of Crossmolina and the outlying regions to be involved in, thus advancing the game of soccer in the locality."

Club History

Crossmolina AFC was formed in June 1992 by Paul Flaherty, Adrian Conway and John Heffernan. It began as an Under 18 side and as the players matured so did the competition.

The early days of the club saw them playing home games at Gortnor Abbey convent in farcical conditions which were not conducive to good football. The only thing to break the monotony of the mudbath was frequent clumps of rushes.

They later moved to Kilmurray community pitch before finally being granted a 25 year lease on their own pitch in Abbeytown. The club plays home games at a rapidly improving Abbeytown where the din of children provides a soundtrack to most of the games.

Club Colours

The club's away strip is a green jersey with white shorts and their home attire is a maroon jersey.

Roll Of Honour

Below is a list of achievements by the club, players and officers.


  • 1993 - Seven a Side Competition Winners (hosted by Ballina United)

  • 1993/94 - Division Three runners-up

  • 1994 - Tonra Cup winners - (beat Manulla B)

  • 1996 - Division Two champions

  • 1996 - Kilkelly Cup runners-up (lost 2-0 to Ballyglass)

  • Tonra Cup runners-up

  • 1997 - Mayo League Team of the Month (December)

  • 1999 - Tuohy Cup runners-up (lost 2-1 to Achill Rovers)

  • 2005 - Promoted to Super League

  • 2005 - Mayo League Club of the Month (September)

  • 2005 - Tuohy Cup winners (beat Ballinrobe Town on penalties)

  • 2006 - Westaro Cup runners-up (lost 3-0 to Castlebar Celtic)


  • 1994 - Western People Sportstar of the Week - Adrian Conway

  • 1994 - Mayo League Secretary of the Year - John Heffernan

  • 1997 - Mayo League Player of the Month (December) - Paul McGuinness

  • 1997 - Mayo League Division Two Player of the Year - Paul McGuinness

  • 2007 - Mayo League Secretary of the Year - John Duggan

  • 2011 - Ciaran Cawley (Selected to Mayo League Division Three Team of the Year)