Deel Rovers GAA in Crossmolina Co. Mayo

This Club changed it's name to 'Deel Rovers' in 1906 having been called 'Crossmolina Dr Crokes GAA Club' since it was founded in 1887. The officers were chairman Fr Eddie Doherty, CC secretary Pat Rowland; Treasurer Willie Joe Tolan.

In 1926, they defeated Ballina in the North Mayo Junior Final and defeated Kiltimagh in the County Final. They won the County Junior title again in 1931 with Peter Munnelly as captain. The Club won the North Mayo Junior title in 1946 and County Junior title in 1947. They were defeated by Belmullet, after replays, in the North Mayo Junior finals of 1953 and 1954. In 1955 they defeated Belmullet in the North Mayo Junior Final and Kiltimagh in the County Final.

They qualified for the final again in 1957, but were defeated by East Mayo who were captained by the late Sean Flanagan. They won the North Mayo Junior Final again in 1961 but were defeated by Garrymore in the County Final. The following year, with Tom Rochford as captain, they won the County title, defeating The Neale in the Final.

Changing from Senior to Intermediate status in 1967 brought little success and the Club regraded back to Junior in 1972. Three years later, with Christy Commons as captain, they won the County Junior title, defeating Ballintubber in the Final.

They were defeated in the North Mayo Finals of 1984, 1985 and 1995 but won the North Mayo title in 1997, with Aiden Heffernan as captain, defeating Ardagh in the Final and again in 1999, with Peader Flynn as captain, defeating Belmullet.

They also won a Division 4 League title in 1999 and Winter League in 1998. The Intermediate team, with Peter Mangan, Captain, won it's first title in 1980 defeating Davitts, Irishtown, in the Final.

In 1949, the Club won it's first Senior title. Having been defeated in the County Finals of 1986 and 1988, the Senior team won their second County title in 1995, with captain Thomas Loftus, defeating Kiltane in the Final. They won their third title by defeating Ballina in 1999 and defeated Roscommon Gaels, after a replay, to win their first Connacht Club title. They won the Senior league title for four years in succession in 1996, '97, '98, '99. The most historic victory for the Club was of course winning the All-Ireland Club Final in 2000.

At Underage level, the Club has had great success over the years and won County Minor titles in 1984, 1992, 1993, North Mayo Minor 'B' titles in 1998 and 1999. They also won U-21 titles in 1992 and 1997.

Deel Rover Club colours are maroon and white.

Famous Players - Past and Present

  • Dr Michael Loftus. In 1985 Dr Loftus was elected to the highest office as President of Cumann Luthchleas Gael where he served with distinction.

  • John Maughan. While probably more famous in recent years for his role as inter-county manager to Clare & Mayo, John is also well known for his club and county football.

  • James Nallen. Mayo Senior Footballer, All-Star & member of the Compromise Rules Team 1998 & 1999.

  • Kieran McDonald. Mayo Senior Footballer and one of the most highly rated forwards the county has produced.

  • Seamus O'Connor. Seamus was a member of the Mayo teams which reached the All-Ireland Minor Finals of 1961/62. He also represented the county at U21, Junior & Senior Level as well as playing Senior with Galway.

  • Sean Lowry. Sean is an All-Ireland Medal holder (Offaly) and All Star. He was also a member of the Mayo team that won Connacht in 1985.