Easkey in Sligo on the North East border of Co. Mayo

Located 26 miles from Sligo Town Easkey is a delightful, unspoilt coastal village, which derives its name from the Gaelic word for fish ('iasc').

The village name in Gaelic 'Iascaigh' means "abounding in fish," referring to the Easkey River that lies adjacent to the village.

Easkey boasts some beautiful coastal scenery and many walking routes through the local woods and around the river estuary and coastline, with wonderful views of the Slieve League and Benbulben mountains.

Easkey is a popular destination for tourists interested in water sports, and it is one of Europe's premier surfing locations.

Easkey Beach is one of the Discovery Points along the Sligo section of the Wild Atlantic Way.

Easkey and surrounding hinterland are also one of Ireland's top angling destinations and offer first class sea angling as well as coarse fishing.

This area boasts a host of historical sites and tourist attractions such as O'Dowd Castle built in 1207.

The castle was home to the O'Dowd chieftains of the barony of Tireragh (West Sligo), having been originally built for Oliver McDonnell who came to the area to marry an O'Dowd widow.

Although much of the original structure has been lost over time, the main body of the castle remains.

Situated adjacent to Easkey pier, the 63 feet high castle is a dominant landmark, and the highest part is known as the 'Sailor's Bed'.

A mile south of Easkey there is the unusual Ice Age boulder known locally as the 'Split Rock'.

According to local legend, the rock was split as a result of an argument between two giants on the Ox Mountains, one of whom was Fionn MacCumhaill.

It is said that if someone dares to go through the split three times, the rock will close in on them.