Find out about places to visit in and around Foxford.
The historic tour of Foxford Woollen Mills is a self-guided journey through the life of a nun who founded a thriving woollen industry in Foxford. It is open all year round, and facilities include the restaurant, art galleries, bureau de change, car park, and tours in many languages.
In the centre you can purchase the world famous Foxford rugs, Blankets, and Tweeds. A large selection of hand crafted knitwear; Irish crystal, pottery, and jewellery can also be purchased in the centre.
Fish the river Moy which is known world wide for its huge quantities of salmon. Daily, weekly, and seasonal licences, and permits can be purchased from numerous outlets in the town. A ghillie service is also available.
For more information on fishing in the area see the Foxford Fishing page.
There is a strong tradition of walking in the Foxford area and there are marked trails and looped walks within easy reach of the town, suitable for all levels of fitness and enthusiasm.
See Foxford Walks page.
Admiral William Brown was the founder of the Argentinean Navy; visit his birthplace, a small white washed cottage in Providence Rd.
A bust of Admiral William Brown can be seen in Chapel Rd, it was presented to the people of Foxford by the Argentine Patriotic Association, it was unveiled in 1957 when the Argentine Navy visited Ireland for the centenary of Admiral William Brown's death.
The Brown Memorial Hall on Chapel Road was also built in his honour in 1930.
The poet was born in Foxford in 1896; his main interest was in Irish folk tradition. Although he spent most of his life away from Foxford, the house where he was born still stands, and can be seen on Main Street.
An annual festival celebrating his work takes place in Foxford in May.
Built in 1879, and so named because it was the year of the Apparition at Knock. The father of the famous patriot Padraic Pearce made the altar.
In the grounds of the church a large white crucifix marks the grave of Mother Agnes Morrogh Bernard, founder of the Woollen Mills.
One of the oldest buildings in Foxford, built in 1801 and stands at the top of Market Square. The tower was added in 1826 and the church and tower was plastered in 1939.
St Joseph's Place, Providence Road, Chapel Road and Bridge Street. Follow the link to the Foxford Heritage Trail
The Michael Davitt Memorial Museum in the nearby village of Straide houses an extensive collection of documents, photos, prison records, police reports, Land Acts, letters, postcards, posters and other items belonging to one of Mayo's most famous sons, Michael Davitt, founder of the Irish Land League.
The museum is open from 10 am to 6 pm, April to October.
Telephone : 094-9031022 or visit the Davitt Museum website
Hennigans Open Farm and Heritage Centre is just over 3 miles from Foxford, off the main Swinford Road. Amazingly, generations of the Hennigan family have survived here, on this farm of less than 10 acres of poorish land for nearly 200 years.
Overlooking Creagaballa Lake the centre incorporates an authentic thatched house, an original farmhouse and theme farm where poultry and other farm animals roam freely.
Visitors can experience how people lived in a frugal self-sufficient community when work was hard and luxuries few. It is a revelation for the younger generations and an authentic experience of life and traditions in rural Ireland.
In the Heritage Centre you will experience the barter and meitheal systems used for survival by the people.
By Rosaleen Snee Gaughan