Ballycroy National Park Visitors Centre in Co. Mayo

Blog Header Image

The Ballycroy Visitors Centre, located in Ballycroy village, every summer organises events which cater for all ages and abilities. All special events, talks, and walks are free of charge.

Qualified teams, from 10am to 5.30 pm, are very pleased to introduce visitors to the wonderful world of Ballycroy National Park.

County Mayo has an incredible biodiversity ranging from the smallest insects and rarest Irish plants to some of the largest animals alive such as the basking shark and whales, many of them within Ballycroy National Park.

This beautiful corner of Mayo commands breathtaking views on Achill Island, Nephin Beg Mountain Range, the Owenduff Bog and the Atlantic Ocean.

A visit to Ballycroy National Park is a must for all enthusiasts for walking and photograpy.

Opening Hours

The trails within the National Park, Claggan Mountain Boardwalk and the Visitor Centre are still accessible over the winter months.


Here are the topics for July:

On 1st July the Mayo Art Squad will make a number of willow sculptures which will be on display around the visitor centre for the next few months.

Also, there will be two workshops provide by the Mayo Art Squad in July:

The workshops cater for for all ages except very young children.

Free Bus Service

The Free Ballycroy National Park Bus Service runs from Bangor Erris to Westport and from Westport to Bangor Erris stopping at Bangor Erris, Ballycroy National Park Visitor Centre, the Claggan Mountain Coastal Trail, Mulranny (Mulranny Park Hotel), Newport Road (Acres Grove, request stop), Wild Nephin at Srahrevagh (going through Srahmore), Newport (Meddlicot St. Edward Lyons Monument) and Westport (opp. Ulster Bank)).

The service will commence from June 2019 to August 2019 and run from Tuesday to Saturday.

In some instances there is a 24 hour booking notice required. A small number of bicycles can be carried at the back of the minibuses.


▪ Morning departure at 9.40 am
▪ Morning arrival at 12.55 pm
▪ Afternoon departure at 14.55 pm
▪ Afternoon arrival at 18.00 pm


▪ Morning departure at 11.00 am
▪ Morning arrival at 13.20 am
▪ Afternoon departure at 15.00 pm
▪ Afternoon arrival at 18.00 pm

Other Things You Might Like