Charlestown Under 16A Football in Co. Mayo

The Sarsfields won their first Under 16 A County title in 1974.

There were scenes of great excitement in the town, when the victorious team returned home, having earlier beaten Castlebar in Kiltimagh, by 3-6 to 2-5. The game was played in early September of that year.

Charlestown’s finest on that memorable evening were: Kevin Caffrey, Brendan Doherty, Michael Fleming and John Cafferty in defence, Denis Carney and Gabriel Daly at midfield, while Johnny and Philip Finn, Liam Doohan and John Gavaghan were seen to advantage in attack.

At the celebrations afterwards Denis Carney, the Captain, praised the men on the sideline who helped them to victory. He paid special tribute to Ernie Salmon, who is the master of all football matters in Charlestown. In a brief address, Mr Salmon praised the team members and said that it was their courage, great determination and skill that achieved the famous victory.

The team was: Eugene Morrisroe, Jimmy Greally, Michael Fleming, Brendan Doherty, Michael Cahill, John Cafferty, Denis Carney, Gabriel Daly, Philip Finn, John Finn, Barry Foley, Brian Moran, John Gavaghan, Liam Doohan, Kevin Caffrey. Subs: Michael Burke, Joseph Donoghue, Tom Lundy, Padraic Brett, Jarleth Henry, Des Doherty and Pat Murray. After the game, the trophy was presented to Denis Carney by Paddy Waldron, Ballyhaunis, Chairman of the Mayo Minor Board.

And so we move on twenty three years to another famous victory in 1997, also in early September. Well the men on the sideline were mentioned in 1974 and they deserve a special mention in 1997. One of those on the sideline in the early part of the year, the late great Michael Byrnes, who with Val Lenihan, helped enormously to create this team and win another County title. Bobby O’Connell stepped in to help Val after Michael’s death in the USA. Charlestown defeated a gallant Ballintubber side in the final, after a replay, by1-12 to 2-8. The game was also played in Gilmartin park, Kiltimagh. Mr Brendan Killeen, Manager of the Bank of Ireland, Kiltimagh, presented the Cup to Brendan Towey, Captain of the Charlestown team after the game.

The team was : Stephen Finn, Andrew Callaghan, Trevor Maloney, David Coggeran, Sean Lenihan, Mathew Kilroy, Fergus Marren, Brian O’Connell, Martin Taylor, Des Henry, Alan Mulligan, Jonathan Caulfield, Gareth Regan, Brendan Towey and Paul Mulligan. Subs: David Kelleher, Enda Murray, John Roddy, James Sheehan, David Durkin and Martin Mulvanney.

© Cathal Henry 2011

Other Things You Might Like