Letterfrack is a small village built by the Quakers after the Great Famine in 1849. Nowadays the village is better known for the Connemara National Park. It was established and opened to the public in 1980 and covers some 2,957 hectares. Most of the Park belonged to the Kylemore Abbey Estate and the Letterfrack Industrial School.
This area showcases very well what the real Connemara is and protects a large chunk of the ecological and scientific resources of this land.