Biodiversity in County Mayo

Biodiversity or biological diversity is just another term for natural heritage, flora and fauna, wildlife and the living environment and highlights the interdependence and interconnectedness of all living things: people, plants, animals, fungi and micro-organisms.

Biodiversity is all around us in Mayo. It is found in the gardens, parks, farmland, peatlands, rivers, lakes and coastlines.

Mayo protects the integrity of the natural environment and takes care for nature and wildlife, making our county a nice place to live , explore and enjoy.

Mayo has designated many sites for nature conservation. Many of these areas are considered very important and they are designated as SAC or SPA.

8 Special Area of Conservation (SAC) are the prime wildlife areas in Ireland that are also considered extremely important in a European context. Special Protection Areas (SPA) are sites important for birds in an Irish and European context. 8

There are many ways to enjoy the huge and rich natural heritage and biodiversity of the county: hill walking, cycling, going for a stroll on the beachesfishinghorse riding and walking in the woods.

8 Nature gives us spiritual, emotional and physical benefits and this improves the quality of our life. 8

Biodiversity is a wonder to enjoy now and to protect for the future generations.

Candidate Special Areas of Conservation (SAC) are:

  • Brackloon Woods

  • Broadhaven Bay

  • Carrowkeel Turlough

  • Carrowmore Lake Complex

  • Cloughmoyne

  • Clyard Kettle-Holes

  • Cross Lough (Killadoon)

  • Corraun Plateau (Extension To Corraun)

  • Doocastle Turlough

  • Duvillaun Islands

  • Flughany Bog

  • Glenamoy Bog Complex

  • Greaghans Turlough

  • Kilglassan/Caheravoostia Turlough Complex

  • Inishkea Islands

  • Lacken Saltmarsh And Kilcummin Head

  • Lough Gall Bog

  • Shrule Turlough

  • Moore Hall (Lough Carra)

  • Oldhead Wood

  • Owenduff/Nephin Complex

  • Skealoghan Turlough

  • Slieve Fyagh Bog

  • Lough Hoe Bog

  • Clew Bay Complex

  • Doogort Machair/Lough Doo

  • Erris Head

  • Keel Machair/Menaun Cliffs

  • Lough Cahasy, Lough Baun and Roonah Lough

  • Mocorha Lough

  • Urlaur Lakes

  • Lough Carra / Mask Complex

  • Cloonakillina Lough

  • Bellacorick Bog Complex

  • Mweelrea/ Sheefry/ Erriff Complex

  • Croaghaun/Slievemore

  • Bellacragher Saltmarsh

  • Ox Mountains Bogs

  • Ballinafad

  • Newport River

  • Lough Dahybaun

  • Towerhill House

  • Clare Island Cliffs

  • Achill Head

  • River Moy

  • Kildun Souterrain

Sites classified as Special Protection Areas (SPA) are:

  • Iniskea Islands

  • Killala Bay/Moy Estuary

  • Blacksod/ Broadhaven

  • Lough Corrib

  • Lough Carra

  • Carrowmore Lake

  • Lough Conn

  • Lough Cullin

  • Cross Lough (Mullet)

  • Lough Mask

  • Stags Of Broadhaven

  • Illanmaster

  • Inishglora And Inishkeeragh

  • Termoncarragh Lake & Annagh Machair

  • Owenduff/Nephin Complex

  • Duvillaun Islands SPA

  • Bills Rock SPA