Lahardane History in Co. Mayo

Lahardane is a small village in the parish of Addergoole County Mayo, close to the town of Crossmolina.

The parish of Addergoole takes its name from Addergoole Abbey, the ruins of which are situated in a beautiful and tranquil setting on the shore of Lough Conn. The abbey and extensive graveyard beside it are testament to a thriving religious community dating back centuries in the history of the parish.

Lahardane has also justifiably staked its claim as 'Ireland's Titanic Village'; because the parish suffered the largest loss of lives, of any parish in Ireland, on the ill-fated RMS Titanic's tragic maiden voyage.

Fourteen people from the area boarded the Titanic at Queenstown (Cobh) in County Cork on Thursday 11th April 1912 and, within days, eleven of them had perished in the icy waters east of Newfoundland. Only three Addergoole parishioners survived the disaster.

The 11 who perished were; Catherine Bourke, John Bourke, Mary Bourke, Mary Canavan, Pat Canavan, Bridget Donohue, Nora Fleming, James Flynn, Catherine McGowan, Delia Mahon, Mary Mangan.

The 3 who survived were; Annie Kate Kelly, Delia McDermott, Annie McGowan.

Read about those who perished and also about the survivors in the archives of the Connaught Telegraph.

In 2002 the Addergoole Titanic Society was formed by a group of interested individuals living in the Lahardane area who are determined to commemorate the 14 emigrants who left this pretty Mayo village in 1912.

For more information visit the Addergoole Titanic Society website.

Other Things You Might Like